Emeriti & Retired Faculty

Botkin

Daniel B. Botkin

Professor Emeritus

Environmental Biology and Global Ecology.

Website

See Dr. Botkin's profile

brokensha

David Brokensha

Professor Emeritus

Cultural Ecology, Modernization.

Dr. Brokensha passed away in 2017

See Dr. Brokensha's profile

Chadwick

Oliver A. Chadwick

Emeriti Professor

Soil Sciences, Soil Genesis and Classification, and Advanced Pedology and Geomorphology

oac@geog.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Chadwick's profile

cleveland

David A. Cleveland

Emeriti Research Professor

Sustainable, Small-scale Agrifood Systems, Plant Breeding, Local and Scientific Knowledge, Climate Change, Nutrition, and Food Sovereignty

cleveland@es.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Cleveland's profile

deacon

Robert T. Deacon

Professor Emeritus

Environmental and resource economics, public economics.

deacon@econ.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Deacon's profile

freudenburg

William R. Freudenburg

Assistant Professor

Environmental sociology.

Dr. Freudenburg passed away in 2010

See Dr. Freudenburg's profile

graves

Gregory R. Graves

Recall Continuing Lecturer 

Environmental History, California History 

graves@history.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Graves's profile

hardin

Garrett Hardin

Professor Emeritus

Human ecology

Dr. Hardin passed away in 2003

See Dr. Hardin's profile

kolstad

Charles Kolstad

Professor Emeritus

Environmental economics, environmental regulation, climate

kolstad@bren.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Kolstad's profile

mel

Melvyn ("Mel") Manalis

Emeritus & Research Professor

Wind and Solar Energy Conversion and Assessment, Global Warming, Nuclear Energy, Planning and Economic Evaluation of Renewable Energy.

manalis@es.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Manalis's profile

marc

J. Marc McGinnes

Lecturer Emeritus

Environmental law, policy, and dispute resolution 

mcginnes@es.ucsb.edu

See Marc McGinnes's profile

nash

Roderick F. Nash

Professor Emeritus

Environmental History

canyondancer@yahoo.com

See Dr. Nash's profile

schuyler

Arent H. "Barry" Schuyler, Jr.

Professor Emeritus

Energy Policy

Dr. Schuyler passed away in 2011

See Dr. Schuyler's profile

joann

Jo-Ann Shelton

Professor Emeritus

Ethical Issues and the relationships between humans and other Animal species

jshelton@classics.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Shelton's profile

stonich

Susan C. Stonich

Professor

Ecological Anthropology and Third World Environmental Problems 

See Dr. Stonich's profile

wack

Paul W. Wack

Retired Senior Continuing Lecturer

Planning, Agricultural Land Preservation, Environmental Assessment, and Sustainable Communities

pwack@calpoly.edu

See Paul Wack's profile

wilkinson

Robert C. Wilkinson

Emeritus Professor

IEES Affiliate

Environmental Policy, Water and Watershed Policy, Energy, Climate Change, and Urban Environment

wilkinson@es.ucsb.edu

See Dr. Wilkinson's profile